Home | ProgramRegistration Annual Sponsor

November 8, 2019


8:30 am - 9:00 am - Registration

8:55 am - 9:00 am - Welcome, John Maggio, ATLP President, Condon & Forsyth, LLP

9:00 am -9:30 am - Greetings from and Introduction to the Federal Maritime Commission

Acting Chairman Michael Khouri
Commissioner Rebecca Dye

9:30 am- 10:15 am - Overview of the FMC’s Fact‐Finding Investigation on Ocean Carrier and Maritime Terminal Demurrage and Detention Practices

Moderator: Karyn Booth, Thompson Hine LLP
John Butler, President & CEO, World Shipping Council
Jon Gold, VP of Supply Chain and Customers Policy, National Retail Federation
Ed Greenberg, GKG Law, PC
Tyler Rushforth, Executive Director, Intermodal Motor Carriers Conference

10:15 am – 10:30 am - Break

10:30 am-10:45 am - Greetings from the Surface Transportation Board

Chairman Ann D. Begeman

10:45 am- 11:45 am - Updates from the Office Directors of the Surface Transportation Board

General Counsel: Craig M. Keats
Office of Economics: William Brennan
Office of Environmental Analysis: Victoria Rutson
Office of the Managing Director: Rachel D. Campbell
Office of Proceedings: Scott M. Zimmerman (invited)
Office of Public Affairs, Governmental Affairs, and Compliance: Lucille Marvin

11:45 am- 12:30 pm - Update on Administrative Law and High‐Speed Passenger Rail

Bridget Dooling, George Washington University, Regulatory Center
Terry Hynes, Sidley Austin LLP
Peter Denton, Steptoe & Johnson, LLP
Justin Marks, Nossaman LLP

12:30 pm – 2:00 pm - LUNCH – on your own

Young Professionals Luncheon (lunch provided)
Speaker: Kate Neville, President & Executive Coach, Neville Consulting Services
We will meet in the hearing room.

2:00 pm – 2:40 pm - Update on STB and Rail Developments

Pete Pfohl, Slover & Loftus LLP
Allison Fultz, Kaplan Kirsch & Rockwell LLP

2:40 pm- 3:30 pm - Motor Carrier Update

Craig Helmereich, Scopelitis, Garvin Light, Hanson & Feary, P.C., Indianapolis, IN
Paul Hemmersbaugh, Chief Counsel and Public Policy Director, Transportation as a Service, General Motors

3:30 pm- 3:45 pm - BREAK

3:45 pm- 4:15 pm - Update on Legislation and Infrastructure Funding

Alison Graab, Senate Commerce, Science and Technology Committee
Fred Miller, House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee

4:15 pm – 5:00 pm - Update on Aviation Developments

Marissa Lefland, Condon & Forsyth LLP, New York
Lisa Swafford-Brooks, Chief, Aviation Licensing Compliance Branch, Office of the General Counsel, U.S. Department of Transportation
Jonathan Dols, Deputy Assistant General Counsel, Office of the Assistant General Counsel for Aviation Enforcement and Proceedings, Department of Transportation

Reception immediately following the program at the Dubliner, 4 F Street, N.W.

Our sincere gratitude to our Forum Co‐Sponsor!
Federal Maritime Commission

The FMC's involvement in this forum does not imply any endorsement of the general policies, activities, or products of the ATLP. As co‐sponsor, the FMC is not responsible for the content of speaker/presenter remarks and does not endorse such remarks.

*Times and panels subject to change.